Thursday, November 29, 2012

Hearst feature writing winners

The first of the Hearst Journalism Awards for this year were announced today. The competition was feature writing. I thought you'd enjoy reading the winning stories, so here are links provided by Hearst:
Melissa Abbey, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, first place, $2,600 scholarship.
Alex Orlando
, University of Florida, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Faiz Siddiqui
, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Christie Megura
, University of Missouri, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Eli Epstein
, New York University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:
Hannah Wise
, University of Kansas, sixth place
Rachel Hoffman
, Northwestern University, seventh place
Veronica Jones,
Arizona State University, eighth place
Brittany Horn
, Pennsylvania State University, ninth place
Nate Hopper
, Syracuse University, tenth place.

Try to stop reading Alex Orlando's feature once you get started. I couldn't.

No comments:

Post a Comment